R Ashwin named ICC’s Test Cricketer, Cricketer of the Year after brilliant run in 2016


New Delhi: Premier Indian all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin on Friday bagged the prestigioous Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year2016. The veteran offie, who looked unstoppable in 2016, became the third India player and 12th player overall to win the title.

Ashwin was also adjudged the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, which has made him only the second India player after Dravid (2004) to bag the two coveted prizes in the same year. Kallis (2005), Ponting (2006), Sangakkara (2012), Clarke (2013), Johnson (2014) and Smith (2015) are the other players to annex both the awards in the same year.

Don’t Miss: India vs England, 5th Test: Ravindra Jadeja demolishes visitors with 7-fer; Virat Kohli & Co extend winning streak to 18

Ashwin follows in the footsteps of Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010), while other recipients of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy include Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint-winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009 and 2014), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012), Michael Clarke (2013) and Steve Smith (2015).

During the voting period, which ran from 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016, the 30-year-old from Chennai played eight Tests in which he took 48 wickets and scored 336 runs. Ashwin also claimed 27 wickets in 19 T20Is.

Ashwin had finished 2015 as the number-one ranked Test bowler in the world, a position he twice reclaimed in 2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here